//
you're reading...
recipes

Jacob Kennedy’s Amazing Milk-Free Espresso Gelato

Jacob Kennedy from Bocca di Lupo restaurant shares his ‘greatest invention’ recipe on the pages of the Guardian, Sunday 21 August 2011, promoting his new cookbook Bocca. There are a couple more very interesting Italian desert recipes on the same page, if you would like to check them out – http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2011/aug/21/dessert-recipes-sweet-italy

Here is what Jacob had to say:

”I made perhaps my greatest invention by accident. My mum had, a few weeks before, given me my first caffè allo zabaione, an indulgent mixture of espresso and egg yolks beaten with sugar. I started having it for breakfast, then overindulging morning, noon and night. One day I made far too much for even me to finish – it was late and I could face neither drinking the remnants nor discarding them, as they were so delicious. Emboldened as I was by the caffeine, I tossed the leftovers into the ice- cream machine to see what would happen. So amazing was the result that, against my better judgment, I ate it all and suffered a restless night. I have made it ever since, but learnt my lesson and serve small portions.”

Ingredients

espresso (make it strong) 200ml plus 100ml water, or 300ml very strong coffee

caster sugar 100g

glucose syrup or light runny honey 1 tbsp

large egg yolks 100g (about 6)

Directions

Combine the coffee, sugar and glucose syrup in a small pan and bring to the boil. As soon as it has boiled, gradually whisk it into the egg yolks, which should be ready for action in a bowl. If you care that the eggs become pasteurised, make sure the mixture reaches 72C (if not hot enough, return to the pan and carefully bring up to temperature using a low flame and a whisk, and keep a sharp eye for curdling).

Cover the coffee “custard” and leave to cool to room temperature – it will thicken in a very satisfying way. Freeze in an ice-cream machine and serve small portions as dessert, or afterwards instead of coffee.

About Polina Pen

Writer, Photographer and Professional Eater

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Jacob Kennedy’s Amazing Milk-Free Espresso Gelato

  1. That looks seriously amazing. Nice one.

    Posted by frugalfeeding | August 21, 2011, 10:29 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

